Barley project members at the 2017 Culinary Breeding Institute Variety Showcase

Project members at the 2017 Cultinary Breeding Instutitue Variety Showcase

Project Director: Patrick Hayes, Professor, Department of Crop and Soil Science, Oregon State University

Collaborating Scientists and Institutions

  • Dr. Julie Dawson, Assistant Professor, Department of Horticulture, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Dr. Jorge Dubkovsky, Professor, Department of Plant Sciences, University of California Davis
  • Dr. Lucia Gutierrez, Assistant Professor, Department of Agronomy, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Dr. Brigid Meints, Assistant Professor, Senior Research, Crop and Soil Science Department, Oregon State University
  • Lane Selman, Assistant Professor of Practice, Oregon State University; Director, Culinary Breeding Network
  • Dr. Kevin Smith, Professor, Department of Agronomy and Plant Genetics, University of Minnesota
  • Dr. Mark Sorrells, Professor, Plant Breeding and Genetics Section, Cornell University

Key Personnel

  • Allison Krill-Brown, Academic Personnel, Department of Plant Sciences, UC Davis
  • Alice Formiga, Assistant Professor of Practice, eOrganic Project Director, Oregon State University
  • Dr. James Hermes, Associate Professor of Animal Science, Oregon State University
  • Dr. Andrew Ross, Professor of Cereal Chemistry, Oregon State University
  • June Russell, Director, Regional Food Programs, Glynwood Center for Regional Food and Farming
  • Swan Ray, University of Minnesota Extension

Graduate Students

  • Karl Kunze, Cornell University
  • Chris Massman, University of Wisconsin Madison
  • Jordyn Bunting, Oregon State University
  • Cristiana Vallejos, Oregon State University
  • John Hawkins, University of Minnesota
  • Julianne Kellogg, Washington State University
  • Pablo Sandro Garcia, University of Wisconsin Madison

Regional Stakeholder Advisory Committee

  • James Henderson: Organic Grains Contracting and Processing, Hummingbird Wholesale
  • Scott Garden: Maltster, Great Western Malting
  • Organic Seed Alliance
  • Andrea Stanley, Valley Malt
  • George Fohner, California Grain Foundation
  • John Wepking, Meadowlark Organics